Dammit Jim, I’m a Doctor, not a Paralegal

Okay, I’m not either of those technically, but that’s so very black and white. I like to say I’m only a [please insert career] on Tuesdays, when I try to pretend I’m qualified to answer something that is clearly out of my field of knowledge. I particularly like doctor, physical therapist, orthopedist, nutritionist, psychologist, and… as of the last two weeks, lawyer.  Or at least paralegal.

I have been at my new job for just over two weeks now. L. Corey, Legal Assistant. I am the writer of wills, trusts, and various estate plans for a small law firm. It’s been a good challenge so far. There wasn’t really a training period, per say; I got two days of someone patiently showing me what I’d be doing, and then I was pretty much thrown in the deep end.

But, I’m kinda sick, I like it that way.

After four days, I felt like a failure. I was pretty sure I was going to be fired immediately, for making mistakes that there was no way to avoid since I hadn’t the slightest clue what I was doing.

After seven days, I realized I’d learned just enough to be dangerous:  I’m pretty sure I read something like this in a John Grisham novel, so I’ll word it the same way.

What? What do you mean that’s not right? I think you’re mistaken, that is exactly how it was done in Legally Blonde.

And now, after ten days, I am feeling comfortable. I think (I hope) that I’ve shown that I’m a fast learner, and I don’t repeat mistakes.  I even  got to be right on something today. After discussing with the lawyer he came back to it and said, “No, I’m sorry, you’re right. Good eyes.” Ahhhhhh, validation. (Picture Lisa Simpson here- “Grade me! Look at me! Evaluate and rank me! I’m good, good, good and oh so smart! GRADE ME!”)

I don’t know that I’ve found my true calling, but I can’t say that I miss teaching at this particular moment. I wish I had time to pursue several more careers in this lifetime. But for now…

I am thankful.

I know it’s not November/Thanksgiving/incessant blast of thankfulness time, but I still am.

I am thankful to have a job. I am thankful to have family and friends who tolerated me when I didn’t.  And I am actually most thankful that everything hasn’t turned out the way I planned.

~ by Lindsey on December 5, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
