Things that are Funny in Theory

I was pretty sure I was ready to start blogging again. I sure as hell had the time…

But, as it turns out, easy as I thought it would be to take the self-deprecating humor route… I just couldn’t.  My life for the past couple months sounds really funny- I’m 31, I have a master’s degree, I’ve been steadily employed for the duration of my adult life, oh, and right now… I’m not working, and living at home.
You can’t walk across the room without tripping on comedic fodder there. Parents as roommates… seriously. You don’t even have to try.

But the problem with shooting fish in a barrel, is that it’s hazardous if you’re both the shooter and one of the fish.
I know that might not be a problem for most people. But I have issues.

I wasn’t even only living with my parents. Through a series of tell-me-you’re-joking events, my youngest brother and his girlfriend moved home from New Hampshire a week after me, and our middle brother moved home from Scotland a couple weeks after that.
Six full-grown adults in my childhood home, do not take up the same space as two adults and their three children. That’s about all I have to say about that.
Because I don’t want to offend anyone. It could make for an awkward Thanksgiving next week.

So… The good things:
(Aside from the obviously reasonable rent.)
Roommates who buy the good toilet paper and don’t even blink at the damage of a Costco trip to feed six.

The bad things:
Crushing self-doubt about life choices, and an advent calendar for the countdown to your move-out date, with no treats in any of the boxes because that would cost money.

So every time I sat down to write something, I felt like I was ignoring the elephant in middle of the room, and looking in all the corners instead, desperate for an alternate topic.

Jump ahead a couple months, and I am happy to report that I am working full time, and not living at my parents’ house . I’ve been subbing (and holy moly, that is a blog adventure on its own). But, as of tomorrow, I will have completed my first full week at a new job that has nothing to do with school!

So, in the near future there will be stories about my new work adventure I think…

And also, a story about mealworms.

~ by Lindsey on November 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
