Snow Day!

Around midnight, crossing fingers for no school..

I awoke to my phone ringing around 5:30 this morning.

I was confused at first, thinking it was my alarm.. more confused once I realized it wasn’t.

I would normally be very unpleasant to anyone calling at that hour. I am not a morning person by any stretch, and if it’s still dark out it shouldn’t even be called morning as far as I’m concerned. However, there was a fair amount of snow on the ground last night when I’d gone to bed, and as my brain (slowly) registered that it was a co-teacher calling, I answered in a cautiously optimistic (and I think pleasant) tone.

It was the call of calls. The staff phone tree in action. SNOW DAY!!

Last time I got this call, my first year of teaching, I responded by squealing into the phone, “Seriously?! Sweet!!” Then I discovered that it was not a staff member on the other end of the line, but a school district head person. Just a tad embarrassing. I apologized, and sunk back under the covers, hoping I would still have a job to come back to the next day.

So this morning I slept in a bit, and then got ready to take Kenya out in the snow. I went for the whole deal: boots, ski pants and jacket, hat, and gloves.  The news said we’d gotten between six and eight inches, and that it was more accumulation overnight than we’d had since 2002.  It was beautiful.

I tried to take some photos, which was difficult because Kenya kept pulling just as I was trying to shoot. So, anything that came out a bit blurry is her fault. We had a pretty fun time though. She didn’t want to come in, but I was tired from trying to run (in all those layers, plus boots) so she didn’t drag me the entire way.  It was an altogether lovely morning. Happy 1st of December to us!

This afternoon I also worked on a new art project. I’m trying to get some red accents in the living room, it is very neutral right now. So.. I painted this for one of the walls:

So now, I’m feeling spoiled and wishing for another obscenely early phone call.

Mostly, because I’m not sure how I’m going to get out of my garage. I don’t own a snow shovel. That might have been a good purchase. Last week.

I suppose that a half foot of snow probably isn’t going to melt overnight, as much as that would help me. I may be in the driveway with a push broom in the morning. If that happens, you can just call me Ms. Sweetness and Light tomorrow. It will be glorious.

~ by Lindsey on December 1, 2010.

3 Responses to “Snow Day!”

  1. Very pretty snow pictures. Lots of days I wish there was snow coming down here rather than rain.

  2. again, linds, i love the painting. your “swirly” technique is just beautiful on the background.

    the picture of your footprints are adorable. and, i’m slightly embarrassed that i don’t know what kind of animals those are… are they big-ass sheep? cows? help, i’m confused… i love snow pictures. glad you were able to get out and enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

 
