Halloween

I thought that this was going to be the first year I didn’t do anything for Halloween. I’d accepted it… mostly. I figured that maybe this meant I was growing up a little. Which was probably a good thing. “It might be fun to pass out candy to trick-or-treaters,” I told myself.

Then yesterday morning I remembered that who the hell wants to grow up yet?

I went through the guest room closet that I have designated as the costume closet (because what else is a single girl going to do with four closets when she’s never had more than one before? Now I have one for clothes and shoes, one for coats and more shoes, one for costumes/keepsake stuff, and one for skeletons art and craft supplies).

I got my friend on-board with the costume plan, we did some accessory shopping, and were able to show up for our school’s Fall Festival not as boring old teachers, but as mysterious figures earning double or triple takes before being recognized. A slight exaggeration of the truth had us going to a small get-together after the school event, to justify being dressed up, and we made our exit, picked up friend’s husband, and went out for dinner.

I spent the evening dressed as a punk rocker, an emo kid, Joan Jett, or Adam Lambert. Depending on who you asked.

I love wigs.

Happy Halloween!

~ by Lindsey on October 31, 2010.

3 Responses to “Halloween”

  1. Oooh I was thinking the girl from Girl with a Dragon Tattoo! But I like the Adam Lambert suggestion, ha! You’re too cute!

  2. I didn’t recognize you! I thought it was the friend you went with. However, if you ever decide to go all out and chop your hair I think you could pull it off.

Leave a Reply

 
