Of Mice and Moths

Last week was Unintentional Animal Cruelty Week at my house.

You’ve never heard of that one? It’s new. And horrifically unsettling. Small creatures of the world uniting to make me feel guilty for deaths that were out of my control.

First up, I went to turn on my Scentsy warmer. If you are unfamiliar with this delightful invention, I highly recommend you start here. My warmer has  the ingenious ability to make my house smell as though I have spent all day cleaning and preparing a variety of mouth-watering baked goods from scratch, when in truth my oven wouldn’t recognize a baked good if it danced seductively in front of its little oven window. The poor thing has not been challenged any further than heating a frozen pizza or two since I moved in. But, I digress…

The warmer, when heated, contained the following surprise:

Not a big deal, I know, one little moth. But, I’m the kind of girl who usually catches the bugs and sets them free outside. And drowning in hot, hazelnut latte-scented wax just doesn’t seem like a pleasant way for anyone to go.

I put the little guy’s untimely demise out of my mind, and found myself in the garage later, moving some empty boxes to a spot where I was less likely to trip over them every morning. Where the boxes had been, I noticed a weird spot on the floor, but I didn’t stop to examine it.

Unfortunately, the next day, I did take a closer look. What. The. H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks?!?

Maybe I’m totally wrong.  Maybe I’ve let an overactive imagination get the better of me. Maybe its a water stain. But seriously, does this not look like a pressed mouse? As if a mouse had been trapped or squashed under something heavy and left there for a long time??

I don’t think I’m guilty. The boxes that were sitting there were small and empty. Not heavy. And they had only been there since I finished unpacking a couple of weeks ago. And the bottoms are mouse-free, I checked. This little rodent outline had to have been there for a while. And where, in the name of all that is creepy, is the rest of the mouse? Stuck to whatever used to be sitting on top of that spot?

Yuck.

Kenya added her own efforts to the week’s body count. Outside, she continues to try to eat flies. She snaps them quite adeptly from midair. Mr. Miyagi’s got nothing on her, chopsticks to jaws. I just hope she doesn’t have to learn the hard way that the drowsy, end-of-summer bees are not as defenseless as they look.

Kenya also decided that it was time to destroy her favorite stuffed toy. I got her a little lion, when I first brought her home. She is part Rhodesian Ridgeback, also known as the African Lion Hound (bred to hunt lions, how tough is that?). I thought I was pretty clever… a lion for the lion hound, get it?  She carried the him around, he came to bed with her some nights, and even though she did enjoy occasionally thrashing around with the lion in her mouth, I felt that they had bonded.

That is, until a few nights ago, when Kenya was apparently bored and displeased that I was not giving her my undivided attention, and took the cut-off-your-nose-to-spite-your-face route. I found her on her bed with the crudely lobotomized lion, stuffing hanging out of her mouth.

I have no doubt that Kenya’s remorse was setting in as I sadly told her that we would have to throw him away. I am just not that good with the sewing machine (the fact the it’s still in its box is a deterrent). We said a few words over the garbage can, and I tried not to look into the pleading eyes eye of the lion as I closed the lid.

After replacing the lion with something a little more durable, like a truck tire, hopefully this week I can focus on the important things…

Like finding an animal forensics expert who could come look at that pressed mouse.

~ by Lindsey on October 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Of Mice and Moths”

  1. LOVE this post! Hilarious and yet… kinda sad? Found your blog through 20sb! Will definitely add it to my feed reader.

Leave a Reply

 
